A city in transition

I biked through town for an appointment today. I'm glad I don't have to regularly go through the centre of town for a number of reasons, but mostly because it's frightening.

It's kamakazee on my bike and when I last drove through when Dad was staying, I was disorientated as I don't recognise large parts of town. I'm not fussed on either bike or car option in the CBD.

My city is changing and is in transition. There is still vast areas of bare last, earthquake busted buildings, some new buildings and others being built. I was surprised by the number of new buildings saw from my ride down Tuam St (which despite the cycle lane, is not for the faint hearted).

I was utterly confused with the cycle lane and bus station entrance. A lovely man (decked out in what, at first glance, appeared to be a bright orange onsey) rescued me from my confusion and guided be across the bus entrance without incident. Apparently I'm not the only confused cyclist, which begs a number of design questions.

Since the earthquakes I don't go into the city often. That will change in 6 months or so when my work place shifts to the edge of the CBD.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.