Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Hemaris diffinis

Snowberry Clearwing Moth ... and a later-than-usual arrival this year!  For the last few weeks, the hummingbird clearwing moths (Hemaris thysbee) have been abundant in the garden - they always seem to show up just as the phlox blooms.  In the last few days, I've started seeing the slightly smaller snowberries, so I set out today to try to get a decent shot of one.  I could only find one, and it was doing what they do - flitting about as if it were on amphetamines.  

Many people mistake these two species, but when you really look, it's easy to tell the difference.  Diffinis looks more bee-like with a pronounced band on its back, and it also has a black "mask" on its face.  Interestingly,  this one kept dive-bombing a H. thysbee that was on the same bush, knocking it off.  Very intentional and not behavior I've seen before.  Will have to do a bit of research on that.  It literally grabbed the other moth by the back and seemed to yank it off the flower!

I've still got a chronic case of hummie-fever, the only treatment of which is daily photos.  So, I sat on the deck at 7 this morning, snapping away.  Then, tea in hand, I walked down to the patio to do a little weeding in the butterfly garden...and along came a big bear.  UGH.  

The damned thing was coming down the walkway right towards me, not a care in the world, and only about 30 feet away.  I slowly stood up and steadily walked up on the deck...then ran in the door!  Back out with a pot and metal spoon to try to scare it away - it looked at me as if I was bonkers.  Yelling had a similar effect.  Finally I picked up a piece of firewood and heaved it at the bear, hitting it on the butt.  It ran a short way, then looked back reproachfully at me.  After 10 minutes or so, it finally ambled off into the woods.  No tags on this one, so not one of the bears who's "visited" us previously.  The miracle is that today is trash day and it didn't empty anyone's trash barrels.  Our lucky day (she says with a heavy dose of sarcasm). Really, though, that's good news as that means it wasn't looking for food - probably just passing through.  

I had lunch with a friend today - we sat and gabbed and ate grilled shrimp over brocolli rabe - delicious.

Weather was beautiful, so I went back out this afternoon to finish weeding and take a few several hundred photos.  I posted my three favorites on Flickr...
a side-view of H. diffinis, showing mask
a stunner of a swallowtail, perfectly posed
and
my favorite hummer shot of the morning

Hope everyone is having a good week...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.