mef13

By mef13

PARKING TIME

Full marks to the new owners of Bournemouth Airport who have undertaken major investment and redevelopment of the passenger terminals since assuming control.
But my thoughts are not quite so generous when it comes to dropping passengers off, or as today, picking up our daughter and her son on a flight from Spain.
Either way, there is no area where you can do that without entering the chargeable car park.  It is no longer possible to park directly outside the terminal, especially when dropping passengers off ready to catch a flight.  Granted, when meeting someone you do need to park up, unless you have timed your arrival by car just at the time precisely your family or those you are meeting.
Today, the flight was early arriving and I had scarcely parked when they appeared, so at least I was well within the 30 minute threshold. When I take them back to the airport for the return flight to Girona, I know from experience that it is most unlikely that I will be able to stay with them until they go through to the departures area, within that 30 minute time slot.
There hangs my gripe. Those 30 minutes will cost me £2.50 to park, as it did today; go over the 30 minutes and the price rises to £4.60 for up to an hour.

Most airports I frequent meeting family and friends do allow some period of grace, at least for dropping them off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.