Fellsman

Today's the day ......................... to get up a head of steam

Back in April, when it was my birthday, I had a mysterious card from brother Ron and Margaret telling me to keep 22nd July free.  That was when I was promised I would receive my birthday present.  They kept the secret very well because today dawned - and I was still no wiser as to what they had in store for me.  But I needn't have worried - because, of course, it was the most wonderful way possible to spend a day! 

I have been on the Fellsman - hauled by the steam locomotive LMS Black Five 45231 'The Sherwood Forester' - starting off from Lancaster, picking up passengers at Preston, Blackburn and Clitheroe before joining the famous Settle & Carlisle line.  This railway is known for its magnificent scenery and steep gradients - not to mention several awe-inspiring viaducts, like the one at Ribblehead (shown below) that carry the line over deep valleys.  We arrived in Carlisle in time for lunch and a quick look round before returning the way we came. 

There really is nothing like the sight of a steam train in all its glory to get people excited.  Hundreds of spectators (two of them very familiar!) turned out to wave us on our way and to take pictures.  And to be one of the passengers actually on board felt very special.

Thanks R and M - I've had such a great day .........................


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.