The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

T is for ... Thrash (Old Skool)

Sometimes you have wait along time for something to happen again.

I am not entirely sure when I saw Anthrax last, but I suspect it somewhere around the end of the 1980's or very early 1990's, either way, over twenty years ago!

A lot of headbanging has passed under the bridge in that time, and they finally returned to Cardiff last night.

Rather frustratingly I was not allowed to take the A700 in! No dSLR's allowed apparently .. despite the fact I have taken it in on numerous other occasions with no problems what so ever. So I then had to put it in the cloakroom, which I was distinctly uneasy about, but had no choice. Thankfully, all was good at the end of the gig and I got it back in one piece!

When the second support act came on it became apparent why there was no dSLR's allowed in. Google Butcher Babies and see why! They appear to be a "shock rock" band ... I personally thought they were shockingly bad, but that is just my opinion ... not that you really noticed the music, as they appear to be adverse to being clothed! There was some inventive use of duct tape on the two female singers, and that was about it to be honest .... thank heavens the venue was like a sauna, or else they would have caught themselves a nasty chill!

Anthrax simply destroyed the place! The new album is amazing, if you are an Anthrax fan of old and don't own it, go out and get it .. it is as good as anything from their golden era of Spreading The Disease, Among The Living or State of Euphoria, of which there were a decent splattering of classics played live! The new stuff fitted in perfectly. I am sure I am going to pay for how I feel right now tomorrow .. for a couple of short hours it was 1987 again, and I was a long haired teenager head banging again ... simply brilliant!

Incidentally this is the first iPhone blip since Goodbye To All This - The End on December 8th!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.