Blip Meet!

Today has been a really good day for me :)

I met up with a friend for a coffee in town this morning, then I wandered down to the canal to look for the cygnets (they were very difficult to photograph together today) and afterwards came back to the main street.  

In town there was a stall advertising the local college and on the spur of the moment I decided to go and talk to someone there.  Having been through the losing the, I'm now looking forward for something new, especially feeling the way I do, which is very old (at not even 60 yet) and as though my skills are not up to 'modern' standards.  

Even though I have an HND in Business and Finance with Information Systems (1993) and various other qualifications including City and Guilds in Design and Craft levels one and two, I still feel inadequately qualified for today's world.....especially when companies are more likely to appoint younger, more savvy people because they are cheaper to employ etc.

Anyway after chatting to a lovely lady there I have been persuaded to go and see the college careers advice and IT Centre tomorrow.  It maybe that I can update my IT skills to a higher level with databases and so on  Anyway, at this stage its just a chat...BUT there are some free courses or costing as little as £20 to do a 5 week course on say Access to Databases.  The thing is as well that they are flexible courses, which mean I could start anytime (apparently) and therefore before September when the real term starts..

Looking forward, moving onwards, rising up to the challenge!!!


The second very lovely thing was that last night I had a message from 'GadegetKid' via Facebook to ask if I'd be around today and could she and G drop by?  Anyway, we managed to meet up at the local Toby Carvery (just around the corner from me) this evening! YAY! at last I've met these lovely, lovely ladies who are over in the UK for a while.  I have of course, blipped them too :)


After my trip to the College tomorrow, I'm going for a coffee with another friend at the garden centre....Its going to be another busy day :)

Happy Thursday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.