We Have a Kitchen!!!

The kitchen units and appliances have FINALLY been delivered!  I got word late yesterday that the decision had been made at Wickes head office to release them for dispatch and send them by courier.  Since the error in paperwork was theirs, not mine, this was the most obvious solution!  

When I signed the final paperwork almost 4 weeks ago, there was a printer problem at the store and the signed copies were not clean copies.  I was asked to come in and sign again which I was happy to do, but had to wait a few days as I was in Michigan when they contacted me.  What I didn't realise was that the computer automatically started the 14-day 'cooling off period' all over again which is why the items had not been released for dispatch.  Their printer problem wasn't really my fault, now, was it?  Such a pity that it had to go all the way up to Wickes Head Office for the 14-day wait to be waived!  I think I was pretty chilled about it, actually, but the builder, Mr Pessimist, was very uptight!  

Anyway - it came!  Today!  And Dolly is trying to pitch in by checking that everything is there!  

Today was day 2 of the electrician doing his bit.  I was not surprised when he said that it was a much more complicated job than he had thought.  I already know that my house was occupied about 2 decades ago by a DIY freak who botched up just about all he did to the house.  I've spent a great deal of time and money fixing his errors.  No doubt the electrics part of my kitchen makeover is going to go higher than budget!  

My kitchen is now ready for the plasterer to come tomorrow.  For the end of day view of my kitchen, see the extra photo!  

In other news:
I took Dolly to the Vet today for her 6-monthly checkup.  She pretty much got a clean bill of health!  She's becoming rather well known there as the amazing, almost 16-year old poodle!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.