FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Diverted

Sometimes in life the road we want to follow is closed and a diversion is necessary. It can be frustrating and seem to have no purpose at the time until the diverted route takes us on a different journey that allows us to discover new things we might not otherwise have seen, only then does it make sense.

This philosophy is all very well until more than one road is closed and the diverted route is blocked. That journey takes us to a grinding halt promptly followed by deep frustration, feelings of bewilderment and dwindling hope. It seems as if the journey will never end.

The past 36 hours I've spent more time being diverted and frustrated than I care to remember and I feel as if all the life has been zapped out of me. Operation Stack is to blame, of course, but it has had rather a dampening effect on my usual positive mental attitude.

I'm not sure how much longer I can tolerate such nightmare journeys every time I attempt to go anywhere from my village. The Blip photo today is the view from the bottom of my road taken when I got home at 10pm.

I've missed dinner three nights in a row, I've been unable to get much more than four hours sleep a night, despite being exhausted, as my brain won't switch off and I am seriously behind on chores at home.

I had to pull over at the services on the way home this evening to buy a strong coffee at fear of falling asleep driving home and to stop my vision going funny. I've been going cross eyed every night this week and it's slightly scary. It's not something I usually experience apart from when suffering a migraine.

If I can manage to get more than five hours' sleep and somehow manage to finish some freelance writing, laundry and packing then I'll be able to set off on a new journey tomorrow where my attention will be diverted to the prospect of dancing and relaxing at long last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.