The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Lego Otter - Slimbridge

A day off today as Dawn had worked all the weekend whilst I sunned myself in my brothers garden!

Andrew said he was planning on going out for the day too so we arranged to meet up at Slimbridge. For once the attraction was not wild birds, but Lego ones!

There is an exhibition on the grounds of seven Lego creatures. There is an Otter (pictured), Damselfly, Nene, Spoonbill Sandpiper, Flamingo, Crane and a Mallard duck. I have put photos of six of them up on my Flickr page if you want to see more.

They were pretty impressive. I think the Otter was the biggest model on display, something like fifteen and a half thousand bricks and well over one hundred man hours building it.

After a nice picnic we realised that we had been there nearly two hours and hadn't even left Swan Lake in front of the visitor centre. So we wandered around and just enjoyed a bit of sunshine and watched my nieces collect stamps for a passport they had to fill in from various activities around the grounds.

If you get chance to get there in the summer holidays with your kids grab it ... there is plenty for them to do, and the Lego models are fantastic!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.