Just coming in to land...

I can't believe how many things can go wrong in one day.

It started OK with a really smooth flight and I was in town before 8.30. My first task was to collect my new specs from Specsavers but unfortunately I couldn't read with them. It transpired that the varifocal had been set up incorrectly with the focal points too close together and too high. They will re-do them and post them to me, so no real problem.

I then headed to my flat and found all the doors to the building sealed and notices saying that nobody could access the building. Apparently they had put notes through each door towards the end of last week that they would be varnishing the stairs and hallways and neither I nor the man who was to clean my carpets and oven were allowed in. I contacted the landlady and we managed to agree a solution that suited everyone.

By then it had started to pour with rain; so as much to keep out of the rain as anything else I got the bus back to the airport to see whether I could get an earlier plane back home. No luck; there wasn't a single seat available but by then the rain had stopped so I got back on the bus and went down to the White Rock to meet the boat from Jersey and a ringing friend who was in Guernsey for the weekend. We went for a couple of coffees and then a delicious veggie lunch at Christies.

I then headed back to the airport to check in. The check in guy said that there was a delay and asked whether I was happy with that. What answer did he really expect to get? OH Wow!  Yes I'm really pleased to hear that I have to hang around the airport... Anyway, hang around the airport I did until yet again my flight was cancelled and I had to get onto Trivago to find somewhere to stay the night. But you do get some cracking deals at the last minute and I stayed at a wonderful hotel in a room which overlooked the harbour. So a good end to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.