The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Reunion

Another mad weekend in our mad lives! ;o)

This weekend we are making a whistle stop visit to Sheffield for Dawn's college reunion weekend. This was the first time I had been invited, so I had to scrub up as I didn't want to make a bad impression.

I have, in fairness, met most of them over the past few years.

So we were up early and off up North first thing. It was a pretty uneventful journey, and we got there just after two o' clock and met up with half of the gang in a pub.

We then were taxi'd into town as we were staying at the Hilton Hotel for the night.

A few more beers and then it was into town, my first time in Sheffield. Another UK city ticked off. The city centre was bouncing as there was a music festival on. We visited some awesome pubs, and I drunk some weird and wonderful beers, including a cherry wheat beer (see extra photos).

We had booked a table at a Grill for our evening meal. I had one of the best tasting burnt offerings I have eaten. I have no idea what burnt ends were, but I had a pile of them, and they were stunning.

We moved on for a late night cocktail. Well it was late night for me, as I started flagging at this point. The whole bonkers previous week started catching up with, this coupled with alcohol and good food and excellent company meant the train hit the proverbial buffers at midnight, and I politely retired back to my hotel room. Leaving those young whipper-snappers including my wife to sample Sheffield's late night groove! Well they would have if they could have got in anywhere, they actually ended up in the hotel bar it turned out, just about the time I finished my Alka-Seltzer!

It was a fantastic evening, and everybody made me feel very welcome and part of the group. Hopefully we can finally entice them down to Cardiff soon, so we can show of our wonderful capital city!

I've added a few more photos in the extras!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.