Ruby-tailed wasp

I met an old friend I hadn't seen for a while today, which was lovely. It was so nice to have this chance to get together, and I decided to take her to see my favourite meadow.
Sadly the weather wasn't all it could have been, but we did see a good range of wildlife, and were serenaded by a Yellowhammer in the top of a bush singing his wonderful 'Little bit of bread and no cheese' songs.
There were lots of lizards sitting on the posts, including tiny, tiny babies which were worthy of a blip, but in the end I decided to blip a tiny Ruby-tailed wasp I found sitting on the gate at the entrance to the meadow.
There are numerous species of Ruby-tailed wasps which all look similar, although this is probably likely to be Chrysis ignita, the most commonly found species across the UK.
They are very brightly coloured with red, blue and green metallic colours that flash in the sun, but at barely 10mm in length they are often overlooked,
They are parasitic, and lay their eggs in the nests of solitary bees, but being so stunning I think I can forgive them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.