Ringlet

Firstly I really want to thank you all for your comments, stars and hearts for my 500th blip. it hit the spotlight, which is always such a blessing, and a lovely surprise.
Excuse the back blip, but I was just really, really hot and tired when I got home, and I had to go out again in under an hour, so I didn't really have time to blip before I went to bed.
On the plus side, my wonderful little car passed his MOT with flying colours! and only one advisory ( because I had left the child's seat fitted. and they couldn't move it to check the seat belt). I was SOOOO happy, I really expected him to fail horribly, such good news!
Also I have now located all 5 Hawk moths, and I have borrowed a large flight cage for them to fly in....happy days!
After I got the car back, I went to my favourite meadow on the downs to look for butterflies. I saw my first Clouded yellow of 2014, and about 3 Silver washed fritillaries along with the usual later summer downland suspects.
I also saw this single Ringlet (Aphantopus hyperantus). The Ringlet is a relatively common butterfly with ringed spots on the underside of the hindwings which give it it's pretty common name, the topsides are chocolaty brown with a few black spots. This dark colouration allows it to warm up quickly, and they can often be seen flying on dull overcast days when other butterflies are still roosting.
Not long after I took this shot it clouded over and started raining really hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.