The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Silver Washed Fritillary - the inside story

It was a good deal cooler today, and windy and showery on and off. I was busy this morning so I didn't manage to get out till after lunch, by which time the sun was out for a little while, and there were plenty of butterflies on the wing.
At the risk of boring you with yet another butterfly, I just had to blip this photo of a male Silver Washed Fritillary , happily nectaring on a large ragwort plant.
He seemed not to care about me and I was able to get within about 3 inches of him to bring you this picture.
I really like the rich brown colour of the fritillary against the yellow of the ragwort.
Funny how if you plan something (such as blipping anything but a butterfly today) it seems sometimes that is the most obvious outcome.......I must be more open to what comes along from now on I think

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.