The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Small Red and Stunning!

It was still very showery today, and quite blustery, so I stayed in this morning!
This afternoon I had to take my husband to the Queen Victoria hospital in East Grinstead so I decided to go to Ashdown forest while he was waiting for his appointment and visit Old Lodge Nature reserve.
Old lodge is beautiful, acid heathland with a spate of tiny ponds located in the heather. These brown acidic pools are a magnet for odonata, some of which can only exist in acidic water. With this in mind I was really hopeful I might see some really nice species even if it was still blowing a gale, and spitting with rain on and off!
As it was I saw an Emperor Dragonfly, a male Broad bodied chaser, and a male Keeled skimmer. But perhaps more interestingly I also saw a blue damselfly which I couldn't id, a male large red damselfly masquerading as, and hanging out with small red damselflies.
Today's Blip is a Male Small red damselfly (Ceraigrion teneilum). It is only 25 - 35 mm long , with entirely red legs and pterostigma. According to the books they only fly in calm weather, but they were flying today, and it was quite windy! This particular one landed on a reed my grandson offered it, and then posed for this pic.......I was well pleased, I hope you are too

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.