Another year............

Last year I visited Malling Down near Lewis with Mr U&L (on 12th August) and to my surprise found a female Great Green Bush cricket (Tettigonia viridissima), I returned today with Historian31 and he found another one!
This time it was a male, and after being in a pot for a little while was quite happy to sit on my hand and clean his feet!!!
Great green bush crickets are mainly grass green in colour, making them very difficult to spot! They live on rough grassland, and according to the info can give a nasty bite! although this one was very gentle and never attempted to bite either myself or Historian31 (and we both handled him). After the photoshoot he flew off, and we went back to photographing the much smaller and much more flighty Silver spotted skippers!
I have borrowed a very large flight cage for my hawk moths, so hopefully there may be some matings soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.