Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Intensity...

That was what I thought when I saw this image on my computer - the complete intensity with which birds and other wild creatures, treat food.  Their lives are simple in a way... eat, procreate, migrate, avoid being eaten.  Much less complicated than we humans, but with far deadlier implications should they screw up.  

The day started cooler but with thick humidity - a portent of the thunderstorms to follow.  I spent the morning outside, snapping photos, pottering in the garden.   I was kept company by a steady stream of hummers, zooming around and chattering at each other; along with the cardinals, titmice, chickadees, wrens, blue jays and two inquisitive juvenile Carolina Wrens.  Butterflies were floating about, including the tattered male swallowtail from yesterday and two very lovely looking females of the same species.

I was in a bit of a quandary as to what to blip and still not sure I selected the right one... but I figured a hummingbird is always a good choice and a way for me to remember the day.  I posted my five other favorite shots on Flickr, starting HERE with two lovely swallowtails and finishing up with a rare sighting of the illusive Great Horned Finch!  

Hubs and I are attending the reception at the Fair tonight at which time I will find out which of my photos they awarded first place in the Birds Category - I've very excited!  Hubs thinks it will be the photo of a mother egret with babies, while I think it will be a pair of terns.  Either way, I'm completely honored.

Thank you for stopping by...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.