blip art :: xb

By xb

One way

Six years of blipping.  2190 blips.  99.95% of them consecutively (the one sodding day I like to go on about).  It's just normal now.


---


That's the regular blip write-up out of the way. The rest is a bit of a retrospective look at the year gone by for anyone with a personal interest in blipfoto. Not to be confused with my annual look back at a year in the life of xb that I do each December.

Well, things have changed slightly since this time last year.  Blipfoto has gone arse over elbow, so much so that tonight won't even register as my anniversary blip. It will show 2185 blips, but if you skip back through, there are 2190.  Honest.  On the thumbnail screen I have 121 pages of 18, and a page of 12.  Particularly annoying after I set up a new blip journal to move the archives I had added in, after they artificially added to my figure.  I was caught out blipping 2000 on day 2001, so tonight I'm back on track.  And in five days I'll get a delayed balloon.

Things went quiet around the turn of the year at blip central.  We’ll never know the ins and outs, or whether the lifetime membership counts for anything now.  Very little has been said since, with just the "extra" pictures being announced.  It feels like it's just ticking over as it is, with nothing likely to happen.  Though it remains to be seen just how he new owners make any money from it.

I'm resigned to blip never getting back to what it used to be, but keeping my fingers crossed that my entire journal won't be lost one day if someone pulls the plug. At least I have most of it backed up.  And I'd like to think my photography has improved over the years (when I make the effort), and that probably wouldn't have happened without blip, and the blips from plenty of other guys on the site whose daily contributions provide inspiration and a motivation to carry on.  Those guys whose photos I rarely comment on these days. :)

So thanks if you've made it this far, through tonight's blip and my journal in general.  Thanks for the comments, stars and faves I get from time to time.  Sorry for my lack of the same.  There’s really only one way to go from here… year seven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.