BLUE MOON

I took several shots of the moon before midnight and posted them on my FB page so when I eventually decided to go to bed at 12.45, stood deliberating at the bottom of the stairs, wondering if I would bother to take my camera upstairs to get another shot.

The camera won and this shot was taken at 12.47 or 0047 as the info tells me on my camera - same thing only different!

It was really bright in the bedroom, and I had to be very careful opening the window right up, in case I woke Mr. HCB, who had gone up much earlier, after a busy day in the garden.

I found this explanation for the blue moon:

The definition of a Blue Moon has changed over the years. However, the commonly accepted definition of a Blue Moon is simple: it is a full moon that rises twice in one month. It happens because sometimes the number of days in a calendar month are greater than the cycle of the moon, which is 29.5 days. This can cause the moon to rise twice in one month, near the first and the last days of the same month. It is said that blue moons happen every 33 months or about every 3 years. This relatively rare occurrence has spawned the saying "once in a blue moon".

So there you have it - as I am busy for the rest of the day and there aren’t as many “blue moons” posted as I thought, I decided that my blip for today would be last night’s this morning’s blue one.

Apparently, the next blue moons will be in January and March 2018.

“The moon is a loyal companion.
It never leaves. 
It’s always there, watching, steadfast, 
knowing us in our light and dark moments, 
changing forever just as we do. 
Every day it’s a different version of itself. 
Sometimes weak and wan, 
sometimes strong and full of light. 
The moon understands 
what it means to be human.
Uncertain. 
Alone. 
Cratered by imperfections.” 
Tahereh Mafi, Shatter Me

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.