Dragonfly....

....which I THINK is a Green Darner, but I'm counting on the insect guru-- Debbi-- to give me confirmation of that!
 I slept for 12 hours last night & felt really good when I got up this morning so I got a lot of cleaning & laundry done! This afternoon we walked over toward the lake, & as we walked along I was totally astounded, as I've never seen so many dragonflies in my life!  I spent almost 30 minutes trying to catch a shot of one while Tom, bless his heart, patiently stood by! The problem was that they'd take off in big bunches as we'd walk through the deep weeds but I couldn't catch them in the air, & when they'd land, they land low toward the ground & I couldn't see them--they were totally blended in! Finally I actually saw this one land in a spot that was a little more open, & even then, when I looked through the camera, it took me a minute to find it! I took about 5 shots, each time trying to creep a little closer without scaring it off, & this is the last (& closest) of the 5. I put a pic of the field & Lake into my extras, because if you look closely, you'll see a whole bunch of these in the air! So cool! 
 I'm on call tomorrow & we already have a patient scheduled so will have to be up early--but hopefully we won't be there long so I can relax for a bit before it's time to go back to work on Monday!   :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.