Cicada shell...

...found on the side of my planter this morning when watering the plants. 
Later this afternoon Tom & I were sitting outside & I had the baby on my lap, just talking and laughing with her, when Tom noticed a hawk in the tree above us. It took me awhile to spot it, and I could only see a few of its' feathers because of all the leaves on the branches, when all of a sudden there's a bit of a thud--it dropped a dead bird (that it had apparently been eating) & it landed at our feet! Then the hawk flew off! It had eaten most of the bird--Tom disposed of what was left of the poor thing! That explains why the bird feeders in our yard have barely been touched for the past 2 days!  
Today's the last day of Jennies' and the babys' visit--they're heading home tomorrow--but hopefully they'll be back in September!  I'm not looking forward to their leaving, as the house will seem so empty with them gone! :(( 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.