Missing Colorado...

Today I went into Reading on a very rare shopping trip.  Although it is a very quick trip in on the train, I really don't like shopping too much, and I like crowds even less.  Since I have a mooch around town so rarely, I am usually quite surprised by what I see and hear.  There are always changes to the shops - some good, some bad.  I was quite surprised today by how little English I heard spoken.  Or perhaps the English speakers are more softly spoken and they couldn't be heard?

Being a sort of transplant to the UK myself, I was delighted to see a car license plate from my own state in the US - here is a fun car with a Colorado license plate!  They are usually green, not blue, but I did a little research online and discovered that there was a blue version issued briefly in the 1990s.  I always loved the Colorado license plate, showing a silhouette of our beautiful Rocky mountains.  Anyway, if I'd been more gutsy, I would have taken a spin in this car, but my reserved English side showed greater restraint!

My main purpose for going into Reading was to look at fridges at John Lewis.  I spoke about my 'fridge angst' in a previous blip a few days ago, and I am now leaning towards getting a larder fridge instead of a fridge-freezer.  I thought I had found the almost perfect one that will match all my other appliances.  It's only when I got home and looked at the measurements again that I realise that it's almost 7cm DEEPER than my base units!  Even with the overhang of the worktops (not yet fitted), it will protrude 5cm.  Looking online at other alternatives, I am seeing that they are almost all about the same!  My current fridge is 5 years old and it is a perfect 60cm deep, just the same as the STANDARD depth of most kitchens in the UK.  Why oh why are manufacturers making fridges that are that much deeper than most kitchens?  

So what do people think?  Will this look odd?  To the left of the fridge will be a wall, so no problem there, but it will protrude to the right.  

Thoughts?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.