The Channel the Boats Use

19.2C and fairly dull most of the day. Few sunny spells. Wind to 25 mph with gusts to 39 mph..

Maeve the Deerhound was out in her garden this morning. It was mild enough, but in the wind it certainly didn't feel warm. She stayed on lawn one where there is more shelter from the wind.

I decided to take Maeve walking today so after lunch we went up to the church then continued out along the country road to Scryne. There was a tractor in the field beyond the church, I would guess weeding between the rows of cabbages. We turned right at Craigmill farm and went down the track to the shore road. We came back along the cycle path and went down to the beach at Westhaven via the level crossing. 

The tide was starting to come in. The beach was all damp sand today looking like the last high tide had run right up to the back of the beach. We wandered along the beach to the fishermen's huts. Valhalla A and two smaller boats were lying on the sand near the shore. There was a wide thick band of seaweed between them and the beach. Shamara II was still up by the fishermen's huts and as Maeve and I came up off the beach I overheard skipper Tom telling one of the men who has a smaller boat about parts that are needed for Shamara II before it can go back in the water.

We came along East Row, where I stopped to get this shot which shows the channel the boats use to go through the band of rocks that runs along the shoreline seaward of the beach. The boats on the sand are just out of shot to the right in a side channel. Maeve and I carried on over the road bridge over the railway then came round in a long loop heading into Carnoustie and up the main road before turning along for home.

Later I mowed the front lawn. A shower of rain came on when I was about halfway through. I left the mower under a handy broom bush, went round to the back garden and brought Maeve in, then brought in the towels (which were on the whirly) which I had washed this morning. I had an apple. Maeve had doggy donuts. Once the shower had passed I finished the mowing, let Maeve back out and hung the towels back on the whirly. I shall be keeping a lookout for any more unforecast unexpected showers, but in the meantime ... coffee !

E-PL5 f/11 1/500 sec. ISO-200 23mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.