Seal (by Macringan's Point)

16.6C starting with one or two light showers then brightening up. Sunny from mid morning with very few clouds. Moderate WNW/NW/NNW breeze.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Aly Bain and Phil Cunningham on the iPod Mini (The Pearl then The Ruby then Another Gem). I went out Low Askomill to the old shipyard and kept going out the North shore path past Baraskomel farm and out as far as I could go before the narrow scrambling section before the last stretch to Macringan's point where I turned round and came back. There were three or four yachts and a couple of fishing boats, all heading in. Two of the yachts had a lot of sail up when they came through the channel by Davaar island and the wind was really pushing them along.

Just before the last gate there was one seal hauled out on a rock not far from shore enjoying the sun. I stopped and stood quietly and got some pictures before resuming my walk. On the way back I slowly went down onto the pebbly beach and sat on a big rock to watch the seal. I whistled along at full volume to Bonaparte's Retreat, then Sunset Over Foula / Isles Of Gletness / Starry Night In Shetland. Apart from turning round to look a few times the seal seemed quite content. There were no requests for alternate tunes. I took a few more pictures then waved goodbye and carried on walking back.

On the way back I walked round the esplanade to the harbour and came back home through town.

Afternoon music ... ZZ Top, Eliminator. Eagles, Long Road out of Eden.

E-PL5 f/11 1/400 sec. ISO-200 42mm

Extras:
1. The seal with a bit more context, with Davaar island and lighthouse.
2. Davaar island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.