Where did that Gull come from !

15.7C starting with a few showers then clearing to long sunny spells. WNW wind to 22 mph with gusts to 30 mph moderating to WNW moderate breeze.

I noticed while I was upstairs this morning and having a look out over the loch that the ferry hadn't set off at its usual time. I had a look on the CalMac website and found:

"Ardrossan - Campbeltown (27/04/17 - 24/09/17)
One or more sailings are disrupted
Service updates

Friday 4th August
MV Isle of Arran reported a rope and buoy trapped in the area of the stabiliser, the buoy was able to be removed but the rope remains fast. There does not appear to be any damage caused by the rope but to ensure that the rope cannot cause any damage, divers have been called in to remove the rope.
This resulted in the 0735 ex Campbeltown being cancelled.

An update for customers with regards to the 1840 sailing ex Ardrossan will be given as soon as we have more information. We apologise for the inconvenience this disruption may cause.
Reason: technical
Last Updated: 04 Aug 2017 09:11"
So, when I went along to the fish shop around 10o'clock I walked along to the end of the park and got a couple of pictures on the way.

Back at home I wrote and uploaded the biography form for the Picture House shareholder who turned out to be a clerk then manager and secretary then a director of the distillery (Springbank) we can see from the back windows of our house.

I went for a walk after lunch. I crossed over the green and walked towards Low Askomill. On crossing the road I could see at the new quay the lines were being cast off and that the ferry was getting ready to leave. I walked out to the yacht club slipway and got a few pictures from there. It was much brighter than it had been at 10am.

I carried on out Low Askomill to the shipyard then wandered on out the path on the loch shore to the first gate. There were several yachts crossing the loch. The ferry headed on out through the channel and on round the South coast of Arran.

On the way back I went round the Esplanade to the harbour and visited the Lifeboat shop to see if they might have a nice blue cap. I decided this week that my ancient green Iona cap is too far gone to wear any more. I got a dark blue cap with the Campbeltown Lifeboat on the front which will do the job very well.

On the Clip for walking:
BBC Radio Scotland and BBC Radio 2

Afternoon music ... Ambient Chill Playlist on Spotify.

E-PL5 f/3.7 1/4000 sec. ISO-200 17mm

Extra: The Ferry and the log pile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.