Windjammer Sea Cloud II

15.6C starting wet with rain most of the morning. Then a dry spell. Then showers on and off with bright spells in between. Moderate SSE or Southerly breeze.

I noticed a three masted ship come into harbour this morning when I was upstairs after walking Maeve the Deerhound. It looked quite a size. When the rain looked as if it had gone off not long before 11am I grabbed my parka and a camera and had a walk round to the harbour. Sea Cloud II was moored at the side of the new quay where the cargo ships come to load wind turbine tower sections. The vessel is a cruise ship which can carry up to 94 passengers and is described on its website as a Windjammer. There were lots of fishing boats tied up at the old quay, two more coming in while I was there. I took a few photos then decided to carry on walking and went out past the ferry terminal to the end of the park. Of course the rain came on so I wandered back home.

After lunch I took Maeve for a walk along much the same route, although we went round the old quay before going out as far as the cemetery then coming back. There were some flurries of rain, mostly smir. No iPod today. The tide was very high. Another fishing boat came in across the loch and a yacht was heading out. The luxury superyacht Exuma was at anchor in the loch.

Afternoon music ... Fleetwood Mac. Rumours.

E-PL5 f/10 1/640 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Note: Wide Angle Wednesday ... theme Earth, Wind, or Fire. A Windjammer might just fit the bill :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.