Two Islands the MV Isle of Arran and a Sunrise

16.6C and fairly cloudy all day. Some bright spells. Light showers after 3pm. Light variable breeze.

It was another of those infrequent days when Apothecary7 was working the odd hours of 7am to 3.30pm.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went across the park and were heading out Low Askomill by 7am. Alison Krauss (Forget About It) then Mary Chapin Carpenter (Stones in the Road) on the iPod Mini. I wanted to get to the old shipyard to get a ferry shot today. Instead of standing at the back of the shipyard site to catch the ferry passing the shipyard I went right down to the tip of the pebbly beach by the bottom of the slipway thinking that a low viewpoint might be something different with the ferry leaving the terminal and coming across Campbeltown loch. That was the plan. I did take a few shots as the ferry approached. However, there was some colour in the sky to the East and I walked back up the slope of the shipyard as the ferry made its way through the channel towards Kilbrannan sound past Davaar island in time to catch a sunrise shot instead. The land in the background is Arran.

I chose freshly made Salmon fishcakes when I went to the fish shop today.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town. Maeve stopped to meet a lady and her two daughters and have a fuss made of her.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went back out. Runrig (Mara then Amazing Things) on the iPod Mini. I went across the road and along to the esplanade then walked round past the marina and the two quays of the harbour. The harbour was much quieter today. No ships at the new quay. I went along by the ferry terminal then followed the shore side of the park out as far as Glenramskill House. Then I came back along the same route to get home, as usual by the street side of the park and home though town passing the town hall and the second hand bookshop on the way.

The rain came on not long after I was home.

Afternoon music ... The Soundtrack to Local Hero.

E-PL5 f/9 1/250 sec. ISO-200 42mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.