Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Two-lined Spittlebug

Having whinged about macros yesterday I find myself producing one today for my blip! Hey ho.

This small thing was inside the house, on a window, so I ushered it outside and then snapped its portrait. Google tells me it's a Two-lined Spittlebug, and does damage to Holly leaves, and grass and other things, both in its nymph form and in this, its adult form. But hey, I don't mind. There don't seem to be hordes of them (famous last words...). And anyway, our *grass* is just whatever grows in the way of greenish weeds - some grass, but a lot not. We do have a Holly, however. I suppose I could mosey over to it and see if there are more of these characters on it! Not that I would do anything about it if there were. Things basically have to fend for themselves around here. The leaf it's on in the photo is a Christmas Cactus leaf. Just a plant that's summering on the front porch in its pot ~ and just where I put it for somewhere to put it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.