Green Zebra Tomato

After catching the shower warm-up water in a bucket, I took my 45 second shower, got dressed and lugged the bucket outside where I put it on the potted plants. No time to wash my hair.

 OilMan had to take his car into the dealer for its check-up, and to fix the side mirror he bashed into some garbage cans on a narrow street. While he was making his way home on the 'courtesy shuttle', which stops everywhere in the county before it gets to our street, I took Ozzie for a walk before the rising temperature made it unpleasant and unadvisable.

I missed my Pilates class because MY car is in the emergency room. We took it in yesterday with smoke or vapor pouring out the tailpipe and haven't heard a thing from them since…not a good sign. OilMan's theory is that they didn't completely tighten the head gasket when they replaced it.
As a car repair guy once said to my father when he took his car in for a second time, "Yep. Shows we worked on it…."

The green zebra tomato looks like it is just about ready to eat, and there is an extra handful of green beans at the very top of OilMan's beanpole construction where I can't quite reach them. I am trying to make dinner with whatever I can find around here…mainly green beans and tomatoes which don't mind the heat as long as they get enough water. That, of course is the rub. Trying to get the goldilocks amount (not too little or the tomato skins are tough, not too much or we are wasting water, but just right.) It's all trial and error for us urban gardeners.

Soon it will cool off enough for a glass of wine on the patio. The air is clearer as they begin to get control of the massive fire burning to the north.
I don't envy the wildland firefighters their job this summer, and I wish I didn't find so many cigarette butts on the side of the road next to our lot of dry weeds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.