The Healing Light

Dear Diary,

Today is the somber anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima in 1945.  When I traveled to Japan, I spent time with a family outside of Nagasaki.  They took me to their "ground zero" and it was an incredibly moving experience.  Here we were, the son of a Japanese soldier and the daughter of an American one standing side by side.  I was moved to tears I can tell you. 

Yet, the sun still rises each morning touching everything with its warmth and healing light.  It shines on all of us equally.  It doesn't ask what our religion is, our political leanings, whether we are gay or straight, black or white.  It shines for us all.  If there was anything positive about those two horrific episodes it is that perhaps the atomic bomb has made another world war impossible.  Perhaps, we will take to heart Robert Oppenheimer's famous quote from the Bhagavad Gita after the first atomic test bomb was detonated:  "Now, I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds."  We can only hope and pray...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.