Beautiful Scotland

I was in Rothesay today for meetings and a busy surgery.   

Walking up the Moat Brae to the Education Centre I met Reeni Kennedy-Boyle with whom I have worked on lots of things on the island.   

After a wee chat about various current projects she told me, sotto voce, that the people standing behind her and intently examining the  flower beds  were from "Keep Scotland Beautiful" who were in Rothesay for the annual judging of the town in the "Beautiful Scotland" competition.

Not wanting to disturb  their concentration I thought it best to make a discreet retreat but I hadn't got a few yards before I was called back by the judges who asked if we could get a picture together, to help promote the work that the organisation does.   I was delighted to assist, having been involved with "Keep Scotland Beautiful" and several of its projects when I was Environment Minister. 

But the quid pro quo was for them to agree to be my blip..  So here are the people who may be visiting you some day  to see if you are keeping Scotland up to the beautiful standards to which we should all aspire !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.