Lights

Lovely day. I enjoyed it at home working on the revisions to my report. Slow progress where I was drafting sections from scratch. Much faster where I was just editing the existing text.

An evening in with iplayer. Earlier we saw a fascinating programme from the late 1960s on the building of the Victoria Line. I hadn't realised that the Victoria Line had innovated with CCTV and other advances we think of as "modern" - i.e. essentially driverless trains, central electronic control of the whole line from a single control room. It was interesting to juxtapose it with a recent programme we saw on the building of Crossrail. Many differences (e.g. around health and safety and the mechanisation of construction), but many similarities too - e.g. the nature of the tunnel boring machine.

Now we're watching something about The Buddha. Not so taken by that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.