The essence

Wayne was sitting on an elevated and recessed paved area leading into various concerns, one of which is a sandwich provider, open during the week. I saw him as I ran past; thought; stopped and returned.

I introduced myself, showed him my camera and said that i take photographs of people at times, and could I photograph him. He smiled, and agreed. Adding that he has had his photograph taken quite recently, by a woman who told him to just be himself, and he found that difficult. He expressed some regret that he had had his beard cut short just a day or two ago; he was obviously proud of how long it had been. 

He then said that one of the things he has a concern about with photos is that they may “not capture the essence of the person”. I acknowledged that was important and said that I would try to show his essence.

To try and get him to relax, I started to talk to him. I had noted a couple of black plastic bags nearby, presumably containing his belongings. I asked if he was staying here. He said that he had been for the last couple of days, and would likely be there for another couple of days, and then move on, as he likes to move around. He said he likes to be able to just move when he wants to. He also said that he likes this particular place, as just around the corner is where an AA group meet, and he likes to go to two meetings a day. Asked if he does that for the company, he said that he is an alcoholic, and that he has been abstinent for 13 years. 

He has only recently moved to Auckland from Taranaki, as it was “time to move on”. He then thought for a bit and said that he thinks he will next go to Coromandel as he has some good friends there.

He spoke positively about me being a runner, and said that he is not. Although when he was at school he was a sprinter, and he was the school champion; 200 m is the furtherest he would run. I wished him well, and he replied in kind and I went on with my run.

He may have chosen to be homeless. But someone who (for whatever reason) wants to move around the country when he is on a benefit, will find that either he sleeps rough or finds grotty boarding houses that take most of his money. True social housing would help Wayne and others like him have a more reasonable quality of life. At little cost to the country. In fact it is likely to save money.


I hope that this photo has captured his essence. (Six months ago, I blipped another person who was going to the AA meetings in Pollen street)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.