The sentinel

Calling it The Sentinel was how S reacted to my photo of a Royal Spoonbill at Western Springs Lake. After a day of various administrative tasks, I almost belatedly realised that the bank was shutting and had some banking to do. Grabbed that and my Pentax and lenses, and headed out to the bank and then down to the lake.

The spoonbills were already in their tree (one adjacent to the one they were in the last time that I saw them). After getting some distant shots, I realised that they were closer to a wee promontory on the other side of the lake, and not around the corner as they were before. 

This bird left the group tree, and flew a short distance to balance on top of a dead tree. I was too slow to get it in flight, but am pleased with this one. A bit later another spoonbill flew over, and bullied this one off. I had just put the camera into the bag because of heavy rain. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.