The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

KL to Saigon

I landed in Kuala Lumpur and had 10 hours to wait before my flight to Vietnam. That's a long time in an airport when you're really tired. I found a pretty good Malaysian restaurant and ordered some of my favourites. I stayed there for at least six hours making use of the free wifi. I realised I was in the wrong terminal (despite asking at the information desk when I arrived) so I had to go through immigration, catch a short train and then go back through security. That's probably the shortest time I've ever officially been in a country.

I finally landed in Saigon almost 30 hours after leaving the UK, totally exhausted. I collected my three-month visa (which only took 10 minutes this time) and shared a taxi to my hostel with a Dutch guy, Tiemen, who was staying in the same area. I hadn't planned on returning to District 1 (as it's too touristy and not as interesting as other areas) but it's a good place to readjust and settle in. I booked in to a dorm of capsule/pod beds like I'd had in Singapore and Malaysia but although the hostel was clean and friendly, the beds weren't that great. The mattress seemed to literally be made of wood and the A/C didn't reach the pod if you put the blind down for privacy.

I showered, changed and headed out to the crazy streets in search of food. I met back up with the Tiemen and we had some quick rice dish in a side alley and then had a couple of beers to cool down. By then I was almost falling asleep at the table so I had to go to bed. It was great being back in Saigon though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.