The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Couchsurfing meet-up

For lunch I went to place only 10 minutes away to eat probably my favourite Vietnamese dish, bún thịt nướng. Whilst not as good as I've had it before, it was still fantastic and confirmed that I made the right choice to spend the next three months in Vietnam. I have so much amazing food to discover and shove in my face!

In the evening I went to a nearby cafe to the monthly Couchsurfing meet-up. I was lucky it was so soon after I arrived. I'd been to the same event in January, organised by the same British girl (Ruth), but it was in a different location and there were now roughly four times as many people (around 40). We kept having to add more chairs and rearrange the tables.

I sat in the first available seat and started chatting to the people around me. They were mostly Vietnamese and a couple of Dutch. A couple of minutes after starting a conversation with one of the Dutch girls, a guy from the other end of the tables asked me to swap with him as apparently there were people who wanted to meet me (I'm still unsure if this was true or not). I didn't have much of a choice so I cut the conversation short and moved. I sat next to Ruth and a really nice Vietnamese guy called Tuan. The three of us chatted for over an hour and arranged to meet up at a later date. Everyone is so nice and it's perfect for meeting new people, including the lovely locals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.