The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Froggie in the sky with diver

I was back on the stool in the artist;s studio (see my blip of yesterday) posing for a different group of people today. The studio was hot: a perfect summer's morning sun was streaming through the roof lights. I have a new admirer, a South African, who loves to draw my angles, which he says he can see from every angle. I laughingly tell him that I used to have curves, too, until the advent of ageing.

On the way back to Stroud, we spotted what appeared to be a kite festival on the Minchinhampton common. Excitedly, I called CleanSteve and asked him if he wanted to come up. The kites were highly unusual, and some over ten feet long. Some were custom-made one-offs, such as the enormous pair of footballer's legs, that waved and kicked in the wind. Whole families had gathered to watch, or to fly, and passers-by were being drawn in to stop and stare, to take photos on their phones.

My favourite was this family of frog, diver, sea horse, octopus, seahorse, and a few other items beside. They were attached to the main string, but separate. Too large to fit into one frame, so I've chosen the frog and diver, because of the way they float so deliciously in the summer sky. It really was this blue, the clouds as fluffy as freshly beaten egg whites.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.