ADA

Well no-one  was playing out today, but I still popped along to the Lowry to have a shufty at the exhibition. Now you can call me an old fuddy duddy if you want, but I do like to see a modicum of skill involved in pieces of art. The 'artist'....and yes I am using the term loosely here had decided to use everyday objects in his works. One piece was a rich tea biscuit with a bite taken out of it....just to see if it did require great artistry I have recreated the piece at home....with a chocolate digestive and to a higher level with a custard cream. Easy. I wasn't impressed with that!

Another piece was a pile of oranges. I didn't have a crate load to fiddle about with, but I did have some blueberries...well it is the principle of the thing and not the size. Again, I could do it too. 

Maybe I am an artist, maybe I am a highly skilled creator and I could be exhibiting too. Maybe my talent is waiting to erupt in a fury of colour and inspiration. Well....can anyone else pick up rubbish and pop it in a white plastic bag and leave it lying creatively about a gallery?? I was tutting inwardly when I saw the bags in the Lowry as I thought some ignoramus had just dumped them...until I read the sign denoting their status as exhibits....sigh.

 Okay I admit I wasn't feeling very receptive partly due to me being Billy No Mates, but it was all very disappointing.....until I bumped into ADA. Described as a post digital drawing machine, ADA was a huge floating ball that looked rather like WWII floating mine. Studded with charcoal it bopped off the walls, the floor and the ceiling leaving its mark as it went, thereby creating a drawing, expressing itself in a piece that just kept growing. There was something therapeutic about watching this inanimate object create. It did somewhat restore me...I was in danger of hyperventilating from all the sighing I had done looking at the previous pieces of lunacy art...and so on that high note I left.

Now I think I shall get out my old A level biology books and look at veins in the arm...after all tomorrow is the big day!!

Oh....in case you are wondering who the hell ADA is....the instillation is named after the mathematician Ada Lovelace, a mathematician and pioneer of computer programming, so there you go :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.