pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Ralph

I woke at 6.45 and not used to the lovely sun streaming in, I couldn't sleep late, so was up just after 7.

A multitude of jobs to do. Normally things that I would find a real drag, proved really quite enjoyable (although having been on the go all day until a moment ago, also exhausting). 3 loads of washing done. The washing line tightened. Washing dried and folded. Trailer tent opened again, and kitchen stuff sorted/cleaned/put away. Duvets and sleeping bags put into the trailer (from loft) for storage.

Then Jon drove down to Cambridge to meet someone interested in buying his motorbike (which he had taken round to his mums just before our hols). A long way to go but a relief to get it sold, as it's one less thing to think about. He also sold his small trailer just before the holiday so we only have to find room for 2 cars and 2 trailers on our drive!!

While he was out I did a weeks shopping. Went out to do a bit in the garden where I found Ralph sunning himself in my radish and beetroot plot - his chin sleepily resting on the 'branch' of a radish going to seed. He didn't seem particularly bothered that we were back! I picked my veg for dinner; peas, French & runner beans - some a bit big and stringy. We also picked gooseberries and I made a crumble to go with our roast pork, which was all ready to dish up as Jon walked back in. A day of typical domesticity which probably won't be seen in our house again for a while. I enjoyed it.

What I've realised, is that for the past 13 years I have been lodging in a very beautiful structure, which has history and character, but I couldn't make it my own. Now I have that feeling you get when you are first married, and your mind flits from one good idea to another (loft conversion, porch extension, knocking walls down, before settling on perhaps some new wallpaper for the bedroom - and leaving all those other bits for another day!) so I am planning constantly, and even though I can't actually afford to do anything, it's nice to dream!

So, in all a good day. Oh, and the sun shone, which helped dry the washing. Now Jon has a little matter of a wasps nest under our bedroom window to deal with once they have calmed down a bit.....

And work tomorrow, with a fairly busy week ahead of us....as usual! Hmmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.