pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Home!

Oh I have sooooo much to say! I hope you have all made the most of your 2 week Bev's Blip Break, cos I'm back now!

I know I've still been moaning on Facebook about the weather on our holiday, but it's something I'm so good at. Most people who know (& love?) me will vouch for that particular skill of mine. However, no more moaning today.

A long day, we left Grange Farm camp site at 9.50 after a leisurely packing up of our trusty trailer tent; (our luxury home for the past 2 weeks) in the beautiful sunshine.

Caught the ferry in East Cowes at 11.30. Cowes week starts today and the sea infront of the ferry was dotted with little sailing boats, an amazing sight. We stood at the front and watched as a tug drove in front of the ferry to lead us through them.

After a brief lunch stop by the port in Southampton alongside giant cruise ships, we headed East Anglia bound up the M3, M25, A1 to Melbourn. We got tea and wee stop at Jon's mum & dad's and had the opportunity to thank Jon's sister for animal sitting for the whole 2 weeks we were away. Who else would be happy to house sit 2 dogs, a cat, a bearded dragon & 3 chickens? If there's anyone out there interested then next summer please get in touch!!!

Back on the road we arrived HOME at 7.45pm. I can't tell you how happy I felt, I feel. Not only was the house beautifully clean, tidy and now full of my family, but it is our home & we are happy to be here. I went straight into the garden to check everything out - courgettes are going mad, together with runner & French beans, peas and tomatoes. But the piece de resistance has to be this lily. You will remember it skulking in the background when I was bigging up my hosta in earlier blips, but now, towering at over 7ft tall, she has the last laugh! The scent from this one plant fills my garden.

I put clean sheets on my bed and Jon and the kids have emptied the trailer tent. Daniel had dinner ready for us, and the house is now a mess again! Never mind, there is tomorrow. For now, I have a bottle of rose with my name on it & feel happy to be home :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.