A restful day 'in camp'

A rest day. On holiday, days like today are essential for me, between the busy going out and exploring days.

I was relieved to feel a lot better this morning, as I had felt really awful last night. I had only just scraped together the energy for a brief blip (lucky you) but today, with less to write about, I feel a lot better.

I have kept out of the sun (which has been far less furious anyway) as I think that is what gives me the headaches. So vanity makes way for health and enjoyment of our last few days here. Jon and I sat in the shade and played cribbage this afternoon. I still haven't finished my first book. Jon has now read 3 and is half way through his 4th. I think he must skip pages.

Tomorrow we plan to revisit Parthenay, as it is market day. Thursday we will go back to Saumur. The area is rich with things to do when you search for them, but from our base most are a fair drive. We have enjoyed the balance of going out and staying in, but are reserving judgement on whether our new experience of holidaying in a gite is better than camping, or just different. We will always be campers at heart. The bit I dont like about either type of holiday is cooking. The only alternative I see to that are hotel holidays, but that is probably a step too far out of our comfort zone (& our budget, I suppose) but, we never say never.

Saying that, Mollie & I did dinner tonight. We had bought a big (ready prepared) paella in a large enamel cooking dish (bargain we thought at 20 euros, which is just like monopoly money, after all!) It had prawns and mussels both still in their shells and looked quite tasty. The boys both turned their noses up, so it was just the 3 of us who benefitted. Oh, and the 4 gite chickens, who got the left overs! It was a tasty & simple meal.

Now we are settling down for a game of scrabble. The wine and the chocolate warming....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.