Feeding time

As already mentioned yesterday, the Flemish Rescue Centre for birds and wild animals were having their open day today. Yesterday I was still considering cycling to the centre, but when I got up this morning soon my foot tole me that it would be wiser to take the bus instead. It wasn't until shortly before I left the apartment though that the choice of camera was decided in favour of the Nikon rather than the bigger and heavier Canon.

The weather was nice - dry and warm but not too hot - and there weren't too many people there yet when I arrived at the centre, which is the way I prefer it as I don't particularly like larger crowds. More visitors were already appearing just before I left though and there is probably a good chance that even more of them would come later in the afternoon when several birds were going to be released.

I could have chosen any of the 90 photos that I took in the 3 hours that I spent at the centre, but when I went through them on the laptop, this shot of a very small baby rabbit that was being fed with a syringe immediately stood out for me. The card on the cage did not mention whether the other baby that was being fed at the same time by another volunteer was a sibling or not, but it did say that they had already doubled their weight since they'd both been brought in on the 1st August.

I did enjoy the time that I spent at the rescue centre today but not as much as I have done previous years, even though this time I didn't have to worry about mum being on her own anymore. Perhaps it was because I would not be able to tell her about all the animals or share the photos with her.

Unbelievable as it may be, apparently this is my 1095th blip. I really don't know how I've made it this far. What I do know is that there have been moments that I would not have been able to keep my journal going without the comments and most importantly the support of my fellow blippers and for that I thank you all. A big thank you also for the stars and hearts you have given to my blips the last 3 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.