Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Little Verdin

This is the best shot I think I have gotten of a Verdin so that you can clearly see the patch on the side of its wing.  Verdin are acrobats on the feeders.  I don't really think that they can get at the nectar through the holes through which most of the birds access it.  They seem to need to lick it up after it had been spilled around the edges.

They hop from place to place lapping up what may or may not be there. They will grab on to the perch and hang upside down, if necessary, to get any that has even rolled underneath!  I have seen them stare into the bottle as if they are thinking, "I see it but how can I get it?" 

Verdin are really fun to watch. It's easy to identify them from afar because of their behavior. It's not that easy with other small birds that land in the area from my  perch.

Brad was here this morning and noticed two strings of termites on the back of my house.  I had to call my exterminator.  They will have to come and get them before structural damage is done, if not already.  This will make the third time I've had the damn things.  These look like the worst.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.