Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity-Jig

We got back to Green Valley just past midnight.  I watched Jon Stewart's last four shows, which I had recorded while I was gone.  That kept me up through the wee hours.  I just couldn't unwind, even though my body was exhausted. As a result, when I finally did make it into my own bed I slept well into the afternoon.

The first thing I did was take care of the birds.  I was sad to see that the person I had paid (well) to keep water in the dishes hadn't scrubbed them at all.  They were filthy.  I had made some nectar overnight so I was able to put a fresh feeder out for the hummingbirds, too.

I heated a can of chili so I had some nutrition and nibbled on a bag of frozen blueberries to cool down. I had to make a pitcher of lemonade, too, and drink a couple of tall glasses of that. It was twenty degrees hotter here than in Buffalo so I needed to re-acclimate.

By that time, the sun was setting and "BLIP!" popped into my head.  I thought of all of the possibilities and quickly dismissed them in favor of trying to get one of my sweet little birds.  This Black-chinned hummingbird obliged just before it got too dark.

It's good to be home again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.