Vegetable carnivores

I have a row of these lovely carnivorous plants growing beside a pond at Arduaine. I bought some 50 species and hybrids some years ago from a garden centre down in Twickenham. They were not selling so I got the lot for £20. Some were the species Sarracenia purpurea, the rest were named hybrids but I gave up on the names and planted the lot. Some didn't survive and some did well; they're mostly from SE USA but S. purpurea is native to NE USA and Canada - I've seen them growing and flowering in water in the Pine Barrens of New Jersey. 


S. purpurea is quite hardy, surviving temperatures down to minus 20 C or below in their native home, but I'm not sure about the others. This specimen is one of two which I think are the same hybrid - they both look very healthy and flower well.


I've just looked them up on the website of the International Carnivorous Plant Society, where a photograph of a potted specimen has the following caption:
"The pot is not sitting in water since free water attracts squirrels and raccoons and overflowing water can damage the decking".

Just as well they're in the garden then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.