But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Honey Bee on Eryngium.

One of the benefits of having beehives in the garden is the opportunity to blip - er - honey bees. While I’m quite practiced at macro photography in general, I’ve not had much success with animate wildlife - the buggers tend to move about too quickly; you hear the buzz, spot the bee, raise the camera and, by the time you’ve got it in frame and focused - it’s moved onto another plant. I have noticed, however, that some plants such as: thistles and this eryngium, have a lot of productive nectar sources close together, so the bees walk rather than fly from one to the next. The technique for this picture was to ignore the fact that the bee was on the far side of the flowerhead, set up the shot and wait for it to stroll around to my side.

I've just posted yesterday's "Cresting the Hill."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.