But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Calibrachoa.

I am always looking at the various Blipfoto challenges, "Mono Monday" and "Tiny Tuesday" come to mind, but never quite make it. I take the picture, but then things start to go wrong; I never quite like my mono pictures and usually add a touch of colour and "Almost Mono Monday" doesn't quite cut it, or I don't have time to actually post on the right day. Today, I'm going for "Flower Friday," the picture is ready to post but, I don't feel that it is quite up to scratch; I really had to do far to much post-processing and that never bodes well. It didn't help that the blip was grabbed at the garden centre after lunch with a compact rather in our bee-friendly garden using a real camera with macro lens, tripod and a proper flash gun. It's a bit like the story of the tourist asking an Irishman for directions being told that, "If I were you, I wouldn't start from here." I found it ironic that this specimen appears to be devoid of reproductive organs (and, consequently, probably offers nothing to wildlife) while displaying all the patterns needed to direct insects to the sources of pollen and nectar.

I've just posted yesterday's "Honey Bee on Eryngium.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.