a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Sleepy Punk Bee

Saturday, with less than 3 weeks to go before the cycling trip to the Pyrenees my plan was to get up and get some miles and some hills under the belt.  But on prepping the bike this morning first thing, I noticed a problem.  It seems that at some stage the mount that attaches the front derailleur to the frame has cracked.  This explains a couple of niggling problems that have been developing over recent rides.  The immediate result is that the derailleur flexes and its impossible to set the gearing up correctly.  More significantly, if that crack gets bigger the bike will be unrideable and possibly even dangerous.  I really don't want to be descending a hill at 50mph in my lycra only to find the derailleur and chain hanging off...

Fearing the worst I raced to the bike shop (Cadence in Bath), they've reassured me that it can all be repaired and have the bike booked in for the necessary work in the week ahead.  This isn't the first time they've got me out of a mechanical fix - they really are a top bike shop.

So,  this afternoon was spent doing a much reduced ride on my winter training bike, but at least I managed to get some miles and hills in. 

All of which explains why I was running around the garden desperately looking for a blip at 7:30 this evening.  Here for you is a rather sleepy looking bumble bee curled up in a Japanese Anemone.  Note its haircut - that looks remarkably like a mohican to me!  Its not that warm tonight, and although the bee was moving it seemed fairly torpid.  Its either overdone the nectar (in true punk style) and decided to settle there for the night, or its not long for this world.  I very much hope its the former!

I hope your Saturday's were less fraught than mine :-)  Right, I'm off to watch last night's Proms on catch up - Cathy tells me that there was a stunningly good version of Rhapsody in Blue played by a former young musician of the year who is still only 15 19 and that I really need to see it - can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.