Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Great Spreadwing Damselfly

...at least that's what I think it is, and a female at that. Please feel free to correct my ID if you know better.  I bought a dragonfly book which is easier than looking online but it is in the trailer which is in the shop for minor repairs.  Anyway, it looks like the picture and it is the right size.  It was around 100 degrees today (about 38 C) with more humidity than we're used to and I just couldn't stand being outside.  Luckily this little beauty was perched on the pole of one of my birdfeeders when I went out for the mail.  The camera is never far away and she was kind enough to wait for me to return with it.  :-)

Edit:  Now that I've seen and positively identified a female Great Spreadwing I'm rethinking this one, mainly because of it's pinkish color.  From what I've seen online, it could be a juvenile Emerald Spreadwing, which start out this color.  Still not sure , though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.