Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Heat Exhaustion

She just stood there, mouth open, little chest heaving in and out, seemingly gasping for air.  Didn't even bend over to get a drink for what seemed like an eternity.  You can see in the extras that she just stayed for a while, beak hanging open the entire time, turning her head a bit.  Partly shaded and partly in the sun.

I had moved the dish over a bit so that it would be in the shade earlier today in the hope that the birds would feel like they could come out to get a drink later in the day - at least past noon.  It is really quiet in back, especially between the hours of 1:00 pm and 4:00 pm when the temperature is above 100º/38º, which it is going to be for a while. 

I said a few days ago that I thought the orioles had fled.  I was wrong.  I opened the door yesterday and poked my head out just to watch what was going on and one of the dang things landed to get a drink.  Naturally, my camera wasn't set up.  Maybe the oranges are working  :-)

I'm putting a little seed out there for them, too.  I feel really bad for them in this weather so I'm doing what I can to make their lives a wee bit better.

(I did a kind of "weathered" treatment on them.  It sort of makes them look wind blown.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.